Getting Your Tattoo License: Missouri vs Kansas
This guide leans on verified state facts only. Where a specific number or fee is not published here, we point you to the official source rather than guess. Tattooing is an AI-proof craft with a real professional ceiling, and a Professional Tattoo Artist can earn over $106,000 a year according to ZipRecruiter. The path there starts with getting licensed correctly.
Key Takeaways
At a glance: Missouri vs Kansas
Missouri and Kansas both license Tattoo Artists at the state level, but Missouri runs a dedicated tattooing office while Kansas folds tattooing into its cosmetology board. Use the table below to see the verified basics side by side before diving into the detail.
| Dimension | Missouri | Kansas |
|---|---|---|
| Regulator | Division of Professional Registration, Office of Tattooing, Body Piercing and Branding | Kansas Board of Cosmetology (KBOC) |
| Governing statute | Mo. Rev. Stat. section 324.520 | Kan. Stat. Ann. sections 65-1940 to 65-1954 |
| Licensing model | State license (regulates studios and individuals) | State license (Body Art under cosmetology) |
| Listed fees | Not specified here, check official source | Not specified here, check official source |
| Hours pathway | Supervised hours tracked via online portal | 1,500-hour apprenticeship or school program |
| Exam | Not listed in verified facts | Written and practical board exam |
| Transfer status | Guest status for visiting artists | Documentation-based |
Neither state’s specific dollar fees are included in the verified facts. Always confirm current fees on the official regulator page before you apply.
How does each state regulate tattooing?
Missouri regulates tattooing through a purpose-built state office, while Kansas treats tattooing as a category of body art inside its cosmetology board. That structural difference shapes everything from your application portal to who reviews your credentials.
Missouri’s dedicated tattooing office
In Missouri, the Division of Professional Registration operates the Office of Tattooing, Body Piercing and Branding under Mo. Rev. Stat. section 324.520. The state regulates both establishments and individual practitioners, so your Tattoo Studio and your personal license both fall under the same authority. Applications and supervision tracking flow through a MOPRO account online.
Kansas and the cosmetology umbrella
Kansas takes a different route. The Kansas Board of Cosmetology regulates tattooing as “Body Art” under Kan. Stat. Ann. sections 65-1940 to 65-1954. The verified facts note rigorous facility licensing in Kansas, meaning the studio itself faces strict standards alongside the individual artist. If you are used to thinking of tattooing as its own discipline, remember that Kansas categorizes it beside other body art within cosmetology oversight.
What does a tattoo license cost in each state?
Neither Missouri nor Kansas publishes a specific license fee in the verified facts here, so you must confirm current pricing directly with each regulator. We will never invent a number, and you should be cautious of any source that quotes one without linking the official schedule.
For Missouri, check the Office of Tattooing and its Forms for Licensure pages for the fee schedule tied to your application type. For Kansas, the KBOC Body Art page carries the current cost structure for body art licensing and facility permits.
Tip: Budget for more than just the license fee. Bloodborne pathogen training, First Aid certification, and facility requirements can each carry their own costs in either state.
What are the requirements in Missouri vs Kansas?
Missouri centers on supervised hours and bloodborne pathogen training tracked online, while Kansas requires a 1,500-hour apprenticeship or school program plus a board exam and ongoing certifications. Kansas has the more clearly defined hour target and the added exam step.
Missouri requirements
- A MOPRO account for application and supervision tracking.
- Bloodborne pathogen (BBP) training.
- Supervised hours tracked through the online portal.
Missouri does not list a specific hour count or a state exam in the verified facts. The supervised hours are logged through the portal, so your Mentor’s oversight and your documentation matter greatly. Confirm the exact hour expectation on the official forms page.
Kansas requirements
- A 1,500-hour tattoo apprenticeship or school program.
- A written and practical exam administered by the board.
- Continuous maintenance of BBP and First Aid certifications.
Kansas sets a concrete 1,500-hour bar and layers an exam on top. It also requires you to keep your BBP and First Aid certifications current on an ongoing basis, not just at the point of licensing. That maintenance requirement is a meaningful ongoing obligation to plan for.
How do you move or transfer a license between the states?
Missouri offers guest status for visiting Tattoo Artists, while Kansas relies on documentation to establish your credentials when you arrive. Neither state simply rubber-stamps the other’s license, so plan the move deliberately.
Bringing a license into Missouri
Missouri’s transfer status is listed as “guest,” which supports visiting artists working within the state’s framework. If you hold a Kansas license and want to work temporarily in Missouri, the guest pathway is the relevant route to research through the Office of Tattooing. Confirm the exact terms and duration on the official page before you travel.
Bringing a license into Kansas
Kansas uses a documentation-based transfer status. That means you establish your standing by presenting records of your training, hours, and existing licensure to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology. Because Kansas ties tattooing to a 1,500-hour standard and an exam, expect the board to evaluate how your prior credentials measure against its own requirements.
Warning: Guest and documentation pathways are not the same as full reciprocity. Do not assume a license in one state automatically authorizes permanent work in the other. Verify each step with the regulator.
Which state is easier, and for whom?
Judged on the number of verified steps, Missouri appears to have the lighter path because it lists no state exam and no fixed hour count, while Kansas requires 1,500 hours plus a written and practical exam. That said, “easier” depends on what you value.
My criteria
I am weighing three factors drawn only from the verified facts: the number of listed requirements, whether an exam is required, and how the state structures its model. I am not comparing fees because neither is specified here.
Fewer explicit hurdles: Missouri
On requirements alone, Missouri lists BBP training and supervised hours tracked through a portal, with no exam in the verified facts. For an artist who wants a more flexible, hours-based entry with a single dedicated tattooing office handling both studio and individual licensing, Missouri reads as the more streamlined route.
More structure and a clear benchmark: Kansas
Kansas is more demanding on paper, with a defined 1,500-hour program, a board exam, and continuous BBP and First Aid maintenance. For an artist who values a concrete, portable benchmark of training and a formal exam credential, that structure can be an advantage rather than a burden. The rigorous facility licensing also signals a strong safety culture.
So the honest verdict is conditional. If you want fewer explicit steps, Missouri leads on the verified facts. If you want a clearly defined hour standard and an exam credential, Kansas delivers that. Both are genuine state licenses, and neither is a shortcut.
Learning to tattoo with Ink Different
Ink Different’s Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship trains you to the standard both Missouri and Kansas expect, pairing you with a Mentor in a real Tattoo Studio through a Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship. We are the college alternative built for the craft, not a tattoo academy selling theory.
A recent survey found that 79% of students, teachers, and professionals expect a college degree to carry less weight in an AI world, and 45% said significantly less. A four-year degree that costs $300,000 and prepares you for a job AI may already be doing is a real risk, not a safe bet.
Think of us as a premier training path for the craft. Whether you plan to log supervised hours through Missouri’s portal or complete Kansas’s 1,500-hour requirement and sit its board exam, our Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship is designed to build the safe, professional, market-ready skills those pathways demand. That includes real hands-on time on the Tattoo Machine, bloodborne pathogen fundamentals, and studio conduct that satisfies rigorous facility standards.
Because both states license at the state level and both value documented training, learning inside a structured tattoo apprenticeship gives you records and habits that support either application. We also help you navigate licensing steps along the way so you are not decoding statutes alone.
Tattooing is an AI-proof career with a real ceiling. A Professional Tattoo Artist can earn over $106,000 a year according to ZipRecruiter, and that begins with proper training and a proper license.
Ready to become a Tattoo Artist? Apply now to Ink Different’s Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship and start building an AI-proof career, with licensing support along the way.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Missouri require a tattoo exam as Kansas does?
The verified facts do not list a state exam for Missouri. Missouri centers on bloodborne pathogen training and supervised hours tracked through the MOPRO portal. Kansas does require a written and practical board exam.
How many hours do I need to get a tattoo license in Kansas?
Kansas requires a 1,500-hour tattoo apprenticeship or school program before licensure. It also requires passing a board exam and continuously maintaining BBP and First Aid certifications.
Who regulates tattooing in Missouri and Kansas?
Missouri is regulated by the Division of Professional Registration Office of Tattooing, Body Piercing and Branding. Kansas is regulated by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology under a body art category.
Can I transfer my tattoo license between Missouri and Kansas?
Not automatically. Missouri offers guest status for visiting artists, and Kansas uses a documentation-based process. Confirm the exact terms with each regulator, since neither is full reciprocity.
What does a tattoo license cost in Missouri or Kansas?
The specific fees are not included in the verified facts here. Check the Missouri Office of Tattooing forms page and the KBOC Body Art page for current pricing before applying.
Which state is easier for a new Tattoo Artist?
On the listed requirements alone, Missouri appears lighter because it lists no exam or fixed hour count. Kansas is more structured with 1,500 hours and a board exam, which some artists prefer as a clear credential.


