Tattoo License: New Jersey vs Pennsylvania Compared
Two neighboring states, two very different ways to launch a tattoo career. The tattoo license New Jersey vs Pennsylvania comparison is really a study in local control. Neither state issues a single statewide artist license. Instead, both hand body art rules down to county health departments and city offices, which means the address of your Tattoo Studio can matter more than the state line. This guide walks through the verified requirements, listed fees, and transfer realities so you can plan a professional path toward an AI-proof creative career that can pay over $106,000 a year according to ZipRecruiter.
At a glance: tattoo license New Jersey vs Pennsylvania
How does each state regulate tattooing?
New Jersey regulates tattooing through local health departments under a statewide code called NJAC 8:27-7. Pennsylvania leaves the entire matter to individual counties and cities with no statewide mandate.
In New Jersey, the state does not issue individual artist licenses. Local health departments carry out the rules defined in NJAC 8:27-7, and each department makes the final call on your classification. This gives New Jersey a consistent framework across the state even though the actual approval happens locally.
Pennsylvania takes a looser approach. There is no statewide mandate, so the rules depend entirely on where you work. Philadelphia is the strictest jurisdiction, while other counties may impose no health oversight at all. That means two Tattoo Artists working in the same state can face completely different expectations. Exposure varies wildly by jurisdiction.
Tip: Before you commit to a Tattoo Studio location, contact the specific local health department or city office that governs that address. In both states the answer changes street by street.
What does a tattoo license cost in each state?
Pennsylvania lists a concrete $40 fee for body art licensing in Philadelphia. New Jersey does not publish a statewide artist fee in the verified facts, so you must confirm costs with your local health department.
For Pennsylvania, the only verified fee is Philadelphia’s $40 charge, which comes alongside a required apprenticeship letter from a certified artist. Other Pennsylvania counties may charge nothing because they may impose no health oversight. That absence is not a guarantee, so always verify with the county or city directly.
For New Jersey, the verified facts do not specify a dollar amount. Because local health departments handle licensing, fees are set locally rather than statewide. Do not assume a number. Check the official New Jersey body art resources and your municipal health office before you budget.
Warning: Never plan your finances around a fee you found in a forum. If it is not stated by the official source, treat it as unknown and ask the regulator directly.
What are the requirements in each state?
New Jersey spells out clear requirements including 2,000 hours, a portfolio review, and bloodborne pathogens training. Pennsylvania’s requirements depend on your specific county, with Philadelphia asking for an apprenticeship letter and a fee.
New Jersey requirements
New Jersey uses a two-tier classification. To qualify as a Practitioner you need 2,000 hours; anyone with fewer hours works as an Apprentice under direct supervision. You also submit a portfolio for review. OSHA-compliant bloodborne pathogens training is mandatory at all levels.
- Hours: 2,000 hours to qualify as a Practitioner, with fewer hours meaning Apprentice under direct supervision.
- Portfolio: ten client applications plus ten photographs of your work submitted for review.
- BBP training: OSHA-compliant bloodborne pathogens training required at all levels.
Pennsylvania requirements
Pennsylvania has no single checklist because there is no statewide mandate. In Philadelphia, you need an apprenticeship letter from a certified artist and the $40 fee. In other counties, requirements may not exist at all, though that can change, so confirm locally.
- Philadelphia: an apprenticeship letter from a certified artist plus a $40 fee.
- Other counties: may impose no health oversight, but verify before assuming anything.
A key difference stands out here. New Jersey attaches an objective portfolio review and an hours threshold, which rewards documented craft. Pennsylvania, outside Philadelphia, may not test your skill at all through licensing. That is why a strong tattoo apprenticeship matters regardless of where you land.
Can you transfer a tattoo license between these states?
No. Both New Jersey and Pennsylvania are ineligible for license transfer, so moving between them means re-qualifying under the destination’s local rules.
Because both states delegate to the local level and neither offers reciprocity in the verified facts, a credential earned in one does not carry over to the other. If you move from a New Jersey township to a Pennsylvania county, you start fresh with that county’s process. The same applies in reverse.
This is where a well-documented body of work helps you the most. New Jersey’s portfolio review and Philadelphia’s apprenticeship letter both reward artists who can prove their training and craft. Keeping organized records of your tattoo apprenticeship, your photographs, and your bloodborne pathogens certification makes re-qualifying far smoother.
Tip: Treat your portfolio as your passport. When licenses do not transfer, evidence of skill and training is the credential that travels with you.
Which state is easier, and for whom?
Pennsylvania can be easier to enter in counties with no health oversight, but New Jersey offers a clearer, more predictable path with defined hours and a portfolio review that every jurisdiction follows.
Weigh three things: the number of stated requirements, the transparency of listed fees, and the predictability of the process. Judged that way, the two states win on different fronts.
- Lowest barrier to entry: Pennsylvania, in counties that may impose no health oversight, has the fewest formal requirements. That is easier on paper but offers no professional structure.
- Most predictable path: New Jersey, because NJAC 8:27-7 gives every local department the same framework, including the 2,000-hour Practitioner threshold and the portfolio review.
- Clearest listed fee: Pennsylvania, but only in Philadelphia, where the $40 fee is published. New Jersey’s fees are set locally and not specified here.
So there is no single winner. If you want minimal red tape and you happen to work in a light-touch Pennsylvania county, Pennsylvania is easier. If you want a defined, statewide-consistent path that documents your skill, New Jersey is the more predictable choice. For a serious career, predictability and a strong portfolio matter more than the lowest possible barrier.
How do you actually get started?
Whichever state you land in, the path into the craft follows the same core steps. Here is how a career-changer moves from curiosity to a licensed chair.
Meet the basics
be 18 or older, complete a Bloodborne Pathogens course, and get your Hepatitis B vaccination.
Learn the craft
train under an experienced Mentor in a real apprenticeship rather than teaching yourself, so your technique and safety habits are built right.
Build a portfolio
document your work with clean photographs and organized records, since New Jersey’s review and Philadelphia’s letter both reward proof of skill.
Confirm your local rules
contact the county health department or city office that governs your intended studio address and follow its exact process.
Apply and license locally
submit your documentation, pay any listed fee, and re-qualify locally if you ever relocate.
Frequently asked questions
Does New Jersey issue a statewide tattoo license?
No. In New Jersey, local health departments handle licensing, and the state health department does not issue individual licenses. The rules come from NJAC 8:27-7, but approval happens locally.
What is the difference between a Practitioner and an Apprentice in New Jersey?
A Practitioner has qualified with 2,000 hours, while an Apprentice has fewer hours and works under direct supervision. This two-tier classification is defined in NJAC 8:27-7.
How much does a tattoo license cost in Pennsylvania?
The only verified fee is Philadelphia’s $40 charge, paired with an apprenticeship letter from a certified artist. Other Pennsylvania counties vary and may impose no health oversight, so confirm locally.
Can I transfer my tattoo license from New Jersey to Pennsylvania?
No. Both New Jersey and Pennsylvania are ineligible for transfer. Moving between them means re-qualifying under the destination’s local rules and documentation.
What does New Jersey require for a portfolio review?
New Jersey asks you to submit ten client applications plus ten photographs of your work for review. This is part of the local health department’s evaluation under NJAC 8:27-7.
Is bloodborne pathogens training required in these states?
In New Jersey, OSHA-compliant bloodborne pathogens training is mandatory at all levels. In Pennsylvania, requirements depend on the county, so always verify with your local office.
Learn to tattoo with Ink Different
Tattooing is a hands-on, AI-proof creative career: a machine cannot hold your Tattoo Machine or read a client’s story in real time, and a Professional Tattoo Artist can earn over $106,000 a year according to ZipRecruiter. The way you build that career is a proper apprenticeship in a licensed studio, learning real craft and safety from people who do the work every day.
The Traditional Apprenticeship
Ink Different is a college alternative, the Juilliard of tattoo education. The Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship runs 18 to 24 months across four phases, starts remote, and welcomes beginners. You are paired with experienced Mentors, trained in OSHA-aligned bloodborne pathogens practices, and guided to build the client work and photographs that a New Jersey review or a Philadelphia letter asks for. Ink Different now has 50+ locations across the United States, with licensing support along the way.
Whether you plan to license in a New Jersey township or a Pennsylvania county, we help you understand the local steps and prepare your documentation. Connect with a Mentor near one of our 50+ locations and start building an AI-proof career on your own terms.


