Getting Your Tattoo License: Rhode Island vs Connecticut
At Ink Different Tattoos, we treat tattoo education like the Juilliard of the craft: a rigorous, Mentor-led college alternative that builds real skill instead of debt. A Professional Tattoo Artist can earn over $106,000 a year according to ZipRecruiter, and it is an AI-proof career because a machine cannot hold a Tattoo Machine and read a client’s skin in real time.
Let us break down the two states so you can plan with confidence.
Key Takeaways
Table of Contents
- At a Glance: Rhode Island vs Connecticut
- How Does Each State Regulate Tattooing?
- What Does a Tattoo License Cost in Each State?
- What Are the Requirements in Each State?
- How Do You Transfer a License Between These States?
- Which State Is Easier, and for Whom?
- Learning to Tattoo With Ink Different
- Frequently Asked Questions
At a Glance: Rhode Island vs Connecticut
Rhode Island and Connecticut both license tattooing at the state level, but Connecticut layers on more explicit requirements such as training hours, first aid, and a written exam. The table below pulls only from verified facts.
| Dimension | Rhode Island | Connecticut |
|---|---|---|
| Regulator | Department of Health (RIDOH) | Department of Public Health (DPH) |
| Governing law | Rhode Island General Laws | Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 19a-92a, 19a-92g |
| Licensing model | State license | State license |
| Fees | Not listed here, check official source | Not listed here, check official source |
| Transfer status | Guest | Guest |
Fees are not included in the verified facts for either state. Always confirm current amounts directly with RIDOH or DPH before you apply.
How Does Each State Regulate Tattooing?
Rhode Island centralizes registration and inspections through the Department of Health, while Connecticut runs licensing through the Department of Public Health under specific statutes. Both keep tattooing squarely under public health authority.
Rhode Island’s Approach
Rhode Island operates a state-license model administered by the Department of Health, guided by the Rhode Island General Laws. The state uses centralized registration paired with state inspections. Shops are inspected for sanitary code compliance, so both the artist and the Tattoo Studio are part of the oversight picture.
Connecticut’s Approach
Connecticut licenses through the Department of Public Health under Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 19a-92a and 19a-92g. Historically, tattooing in Connecticut was restricted to physicians. The creation of the “Tattoo Technician” license expanded eligibility, but the state kept its requirements notably high compared with many neighbors.
Tip: Because Connecticut processes all applications through its state online portal, keep digital copies of your training and course records ready to upload.
What Does a Tattoo License Cost in Each State?
Neither Rhode Island nor Connecticut has a fee listed in the verified facts, so you must confirm current costs directly with each state’s health department. We will not guess at dollar amounts.
Cost is more than a single application fee. In Connecticut, budget realistically for the pieces the state does list: an approved bloodborne pathogens course, current Basic First Aid certification, and a written exam. Each of those can carry its own cost from the provider, even though the state license fee itself is not specified here.
In Rhode Island, the listed requirements are lighter, which generally means fewer separate expenses to line up before you register. To confirm exact figures, use the official resources: the RIDOH Professional Licensing page for Rhode Island and the DPH Tattoo Technician page for Connecticut.
What Are the Requirements in Each State?
Connecticut requires 2,000 training hours, a bloodborne pathogens course, first aid, and a written exam, while Rhode Island lists registration, demonstrated bloodborne pathogens knowledge, and shop inspections. Connecticut is the heavier lift on paper.
Rhode Island Requirements
- Registration: State registration through RIDOH.
- Bloodborne pathogens: Demonstrate BBP knowledge.
- Facility: Tattoo Studios are inspected for sanitary code compliance.
Connecticut Requirements
- Training hours: 2,000 hours of training under a licensed technician in a registered salon.
- Bloodborne pathogens: An approved BBP course.
- First aid: Current Basic First Aid from the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association.
- Exam: A written exam covering health regulations and anatomy.
- Submission: All applications processed through the state online portal.
Connecticut’s 2,000-hour training requirement is the single biggest difference. It ties your eligibility to structured, verified time under a licensed technician, which is exactly the kind of Mentor-led learning a strong Tattoo Apprenticeship is built to provide. Connecticut also offers a Training Verification Form to document those hours.
How Do You Transfer a License Between These States?
Both Rhode Island and Connecticut list a guest transfer status, meaning an artist licensed in one may be able to work in the other through a guest arrangement rather than a full new license.
The verified facts mark both states as “guest” for transfer status. That is encouraging if you plan to work across the New England region, but guest status is not the same as full reciprocity, and the exact terms are not spelled out in the facts here. Confirm the current conditions before you rely on them.
Connecticut publishes a dedicated pathway for applicants who already hold credentials elsewhere. Review the License Based on Out of State License page to understand what Connecticut asks of an already-licensed artist. For Rhode Island guest terms, contact RIDOH directly through its licensing page.
Warning: Do not assume a guest arrangement covers permanent, unlimited work in a second state. Verify duration and scope with the state health department before booking clients.
Which State Is Easier, and for Whom?
Judged strictly by the number of listed requirements, Rhode Island is the lighter-requirement state, while Connecticut suits artists who want a highly structured, hours-based path. Here are the criteria we used.
Our criteria are simple and drawn only from verified facts: number of explicit requirements, whether a set training-hours figure is mandated, and whether a written exam is required.
- Fewest listed steps: Rhode Island lists three requirements. Connecticut lists five, including a 2,000-hour training mandate and a written exam.
- Mandated training hours: Connecticut specifies 2,000 hours. Rhode Island does not state an hours figure in these facts.
- Written exam: Connecticut requires one covering health regulations and anatomy. Rhode Island does not list an exam here.
So who should choose which? Rhode Island tends to favor an artist who wants a more direct route to registration, provided they can demonstrate bloodborne pathogens knowledge and work in an inspected studio. Connecticut favors an artist who values a formal, verifiable training record and is comfortable completing first aid and a written exam. Neither model is inherently better; they reflect different philosophies of oversight.
Where fees are concerned, we cannot declare a cost winner because neither state’s fee is in the verified facts. On paper, though, Connecticut’s added course, first aid, and exam steps generally mean more items to complete before you are licensed.
Learning to Tattoo With Ink Different
Our Mentor-led Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship prepares you for either state by building real skill, sanitation discipline, and the documented training that Connecticut in particular rewards.
Ink Different Tattoos is the college alternative for people who want a real trade instead of student debt. We are, unapologetically, the Juilliard of tattoo education: hands-on, Mentor-driven, and focused on the craft rather than shortcuts. This is not a gimmick; it is a serious Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship built to produce working professionals.
Because Connecticut requires 2,000 training hours under a licensed technician, structured mentorship maps directly to its licensing pathway, and the state’s Training Verification Form gives you a way to document your progress. For Rhode Island, the same disciplined training helps you demonstrate bloodborne pathogens knowledge and thrive in an inspected Tattoo Studio. Either way, real training under a Mentor is the foundation.
An AI-proof career starts with human skill. Machines do not build trust with a nervous first-time client or adapt a design to living skin. That is why we lead with craft, and why Professional Tattoo Artists can earn over $106,000 a year according to ZipRecruiter.
Ready to become a Tattoo Artist? Apply now to Ink Different’s Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship and start building an AI-proof career, with licensing support along the way.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who regulates tattooing in Rhode Island and Connecticut?
Rhode Island tattooing is regulated by the Department of Health, and Connecticut tattooing is regulated by the Department of Public Health. Both operate a state-license model.
How many training hours does Connecticut require?
Connecticut requires 2,000 hours of training under a licensed technician in a registered salon. Rhode Island does not list a specific training-hours figure in the verified facts.
Does Rhode Island require a written exam to tattoo?
The verified facts do not list a written exam for Rhode Island. Connecticut does require a written exam covering health regulations and anatomy. Confirm details with each state’s health department.
Can I transfer my tattoo license between Rhode Island and Connecticut?
Both states list a guest transfer status. Guest status is not full reciprocity, so confirm the exact terms with the Rhode Island Department of Health or Connecticut Department of Public Health.
How much does a tattoo license cost in each state?
Fees are not included in the verified facts for either state. Check the RIDOH Professional Licensing page or the Connecticut DPH Tattoo Technician page for current amounts.
Which state is easier to get licensed in?
Based on the number of listed requirements, Rhode Island is lighter, with three stated requirements versus Connecticut’s five, including 2,000 training hours and a written exam.
Learn to tattoo with Ink Different
Understanding the path is one thing; building the career is the real goal. Tattooing is one of the few hands-on, creative careers that AI cannot replace, and a proper apprenticeship inside a licensed studio is how you build it. That is exactly what we do.
The Traditional Apprenticeship
Our Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship runs 18 to 24 months across four structured phases. You start remotely, learning the fundamentals from drawing through to machine control, then finish hands-on inside an active tattoo studio. It is built for beginners, so you do not need formal art training to begin, and Ink Different now has 50+ locations across the United States.
If this sounds like your path, connect with a Mentor near one of our 50+ locations and take the first real step toward a career that is genuinely your own.


