Getting Your Tattoo License: Georgia vs Tennessee
Key Takeaways
How do Georgia and Tennessee compare at a glance?
Georgia and Tennessee both license tattoo artists at the state level, but they use different agencies, statutes, and transfer rules. The table below draws only from verified state facts so you can scan the essentials before diving deeper.
| Dimension | Georgia | Tennessee |
|---|---|---|
| Regulator | Department of Public Health (DPH) | Department of Health |
| Licensing model | State license | State license |
| Governing statute | Senate Bill 214; Chapter 511-3-8 | Tenn. Code sections 62-38-201 to 310 |
| Listed fees | Not specified in verified facts: confirm with DPH | Not specified in verified facts: confirm with the Department of Health |
| Transfer status | Unclassified | Guest |
Neither state’s published fee schedule is included in the verified facts here. Always confirm current costs directly with the state agency before you budget.
How does each state regulate tattoo licensing?
Georgia regulates body art through its Department of Public Health, while Tennessee regulates tattooing through its Department of Health, and both issue licenses statewide. The agencies differ in name but share a public-health mission focused on safe practice.
Georgia’s framework is relatively new. It rests on Senate Bill 214 and Chapter 511-3-8, which took effect recently, with full compliance required afterward. Georgia recently shifted from a local-only approach to a unified state regulation, and the newer requirements apply to all existing artists, not just newcomers.
Tennessee’s system is built on Tenn. Code sections 62-38-201 to 310. It pairs a state artist license with a local health certificate for the Tattoo Studio itself. That means Tennessee separates the person from the place: you carry an individual license, and the shop carries its own facility certificate.
Because both states run a state-license model, the credential follows a statewide standard rather than a patchwork of city or county rules. For Georgia, that unification is fresh, so it is worth reading the current rules carefully rather than relying on older local practices you may have heard about.
What does a tattoo license cost in each state?
The verified facts here do not list specific licensing fees for Georgia or Tennessee, so you must confirm current amounts with each state agency directly. We will not guess at dollar figures.
For Georgia, the authority on cost is the Department of Public Health. Their body art homepage and the Chapter 511-3-8 rules page are the correct places to verify any application or renewal charges.
For Tennessee, the Department of Health’s Environmental Health tattoo page is the source to check for artist license fees and any facility-related costs tied to the local health certificate.
Tip: Ask the agency for both the initial fee and the renewal fee. Renewal costs and cycles can differ from the first application, and you want the full picture before you commit.
Keep in mind that Tennessee’s two-part structure (artist license plus shop health certificate) can involve more than one line item, since the facility certificate is issued locally. Budget for the possibility of separate charges and verify each with the appropriate office.
What are the requirements in Georgia and Tennessee?
Both states require CPR and First Aid, but Georgia adds a state exam and Hepatitis B documentation, while Tennessee pairs the artist license with a local shop health certificate. Here is what each state lists.
Georgia requirements
- State Body Art Exam: scheduled with your local County Environmental Health Office.
- BBP, First Aid, and CPR: none of these certifications may expire within six months of your certification renewal.
- Hepatitis B: vaccination or a signed declination on file.
Tennessee requirements
- State artist license: the individual credential to tattoo.
- Local health certificate: issued for the Tattoo Studio where you work.
- CPR certification.
- First Aid certification.
Tennessee is one of about 11 states that explicitly require both CPR and First Aid for licensure. Georgia also names First Aid and CPR alongside bloodborne pathogens training, and it goes a step further by requiring the state Body Art Exam and Hepatitis B documentation.
The practical takeaway is that Georgia’s checklist has more discrete items to satisfy up front, while Tennessee’s spreads responsibility between you and the studio through the separate facility certificate. Confirm the exact certification providers each state accepts before you enroll in any bloodborne pathogens, First Aid, or CPR course.
Can you transfer or move your license between the two states?
Tennessee offers a guest option for its transfer status, while Georgia’s transfer status is currently unclassified, so you should verify reciprocity directly with each agency. The two states are not symmetrical here.
A guest status in Tennessee suggests a pathway for visiting or out-of-state artists to work under defined conditions, but the specifics of who qualifies and for how long are not detailed in the verified facts. Contact the Tennessee Department of Health to learn the exact terms.
Georgia’s unclassified status means the verified facts do not confirm a formal transfer or reciprocity route. Because Georgia only recently unified under a state regulation, it is especially important to ask the Department of Public Health how they handle credentials earned elsewhere.
Warning: Do not assume a license from one state automatically lets you tattoo in the other. Confirm in writing with both the Georgia DPH and the Tennessee Department of Health before you plan a move or a guest spot.
Which state is easier, and for whom?
By the number of explicitly listed licensing steps, Tennessee has a shorter individual checklist, while Georgia adds a state exam and Hepatitis B documentation, so the easier state depends on your criteria. Here are the criteria we used and what the facts show.
By number of individual requirements
Tennessee’s artist path lists CPR, First Aid, and the state license, with the shop carrying its own health certificate. Georgia lists the State Body Art Exam, BBP plus First Aid plus CPR, and Hepatitis B vaccination or declination. On raw item count for the individual, Tennessee is leaner.
By exam burden
Georgia requires passing a State Body Art Exam scheduled through a local County Environmental Health Office. The verified Tennessee facts do not list a comparable state exam. If avoiding an exam matters to you, Georgia carries that extra step.
By studio-versus-artist structure
Tennessee splits duties between your artist license and the studio’s local health certificate. That can simplify your personal paperwork but ties your ability to work to a compliant shop. Georgia keeps more of the burden on the individual artist.
By cost
We cannot declare a cost winner. Neither state’s fees appear in the verified facts, so any claim of cheaper or pricier would be a guess. Verify both before deciding.
By transfer flexibility
Tennessee’s guest status gives it a clearer nod toward out-of-state or visiting artists than Georgia’s unclassified status. If mobility is your priority, Tennessee currently looks more accommodating based on the facts, though you must confirm the terms.
Bottom line: for a lean individual checklist and clearer visiting-artist language, Tennessee edges ahead. For artists who prefer a single unified state standard and do not mind an exam, Georgia is a solid fit. On fees, the facts are equivalent because neither is specified, so we call that a tie and send you to the source.
How do you learn to tattoo for either state?
Whether you aim for Georgia or Tennessee, the reliable path is a structured tattoo apprenticeship that builds real skill and safe practice before you sit for licensure. Both states expect competent, hygienic artists, and that competence comes from mentored training, not shortcuts.
A recent survey found that 79% of students, teachers, and professionals expect a college degree to carry less weight in an AI world, and 45% said significantly less. A four-year degree that costs $300,000 and prepares you for a job AI may already be doing by 2028 is a real risk, not a safe bet.
Ink Different Tattoos is the Juilliard of tattoo education and a serious college alternative for people who want an AI-proof creative career. Instead of a classroom disconnected from the floor, our Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship pairs you with a working Mentor so you learn on real equipment, including proper Tattoo Machine handling, sterilization, and client care.
Because a Professional Tattoo Artist can earn over $106,000 a year according to ZipRecruiter, the investment in a strong Tattoo Apprenticeship pays off in a durable trade that automation cannot replace. We build your portfolio, your fundamentals, and your understanding of the health-and-safety expectations that both Georgia and Tennessee care about, with licensing support along the way.
Ready to become a Tattoo Artist? Apply now to Ink Different’s Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship and start building an AI-proof career, with licensing support along the way.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do Georgia and Tennessee both require a state license to tattoo?
Yes. Georgia licenses through the Department of Public Health under Chapter 511-3-8, and Tennessee licenses through the Department of Health under Tenn. Code sections 62-38-201 to 310.
Does Georgia require a tattoo exam?
Yes. Georgia requires the State Body Art Exam, which you schedule with your local County Environmental Health Office. The verified facts do not list a comparable state exam for Tennessee.
Do both states require CPR and First Aid?
Yes. Tennessee is one of about 11 states that explicitly require both CPR and First Aid, and Georgia also lists First Aid and CPR alongside bloodborne pathogens training.
Can I transfer my tattoo license between Georgia and Tennessee?
Tennessee lists a guest transfer status, while Georgia’s transfer status is unclassified. Confirm any reciprocity or guest terms directly with each state agency before you rely on it.
How much does a tattoo license cost in Georgia or Tennessee?
Specific fees are not included in the verified facts here. Check the Georgia Department of Public Health and the Tennessee Department of Health for current application and renewal costs.
What is the best way to prepare for licensure in either state?
Complete a structured tattoo apprenticeship with a qualified Mentor. Programs like Ink Different’s Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship teach the safe practice both states expect and offer licensing support along the way.
Learn to tattoo with Ink Different
Understanding the path is one thing; building the career is the real goal. Tattooing is one of the few hands-on, creative careers that AI cannot replace, and a proper apprenticeship inside a licensed studio is how you build it. That is exactly what we do.
The Traditional Apprenticeship
Our Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship runs 18 to 24 months across four structured phases. You start remotely, learning the fundamentals from drawing through to machine control, then finish hands-on inside an active tattoo studio. It is built for beginners, so you do not need formal art training to begin, and Ink Different now has 50+ locations across the United States.
If this sounds like your path, connect with a Mentor near one of our 50+ locations and take the first real step toward a career that is genuinely your own.


