Getting Your Tattoo License: Tennessee vs Kentucky
Key Takeaways
Becoming a Tattoo Artist is one of the most AI-proof careers available, since a machine cannot replace the hand, eye, and human trust that ink demands. Both Tennessee and Kentucky give you a legitimate route into that work, and both reward artists who train properly through a structured tattoo apprenticeship rather than a shortcut.
At a Glance: Tennessee vs Kentucky
Tennessee licenses individual artists through a single state authority, while Kentucky routes licensing through county and local health departments under statewide rules. The table below draws only from verified facts, and where a specific fee or number is not published here, you should confirm it with the official source.
| Dimension | Tennessee | Kentucky |
|---|---|---|
| Regulator | Department of Health | Department for Public Health |
| Statute | Tenn. Code sections 62-38-201 to 310 | 902 KAR 45.065 |
| Licensing model | State license (individual artist) | County-local permit under statewide rules |
| Fees | Not specified here; check official source | Not specified here; check official source |
| Transfer status | Guest | Documentation |
Neither set of verified facts lists a dollar figure. Do not trust any site that quotes a specific fee without linking to the state authority. Always confirm cost directly with the regulator.
How does each state regulate tattooing?
Tennessee regulates tattooing at the state level through the Department of Health, while Kentucky uses a county-local model administered under the Department for Public Health. These two approaches shape almost everything else about your path.
Tennessee: one statewide artist license
In Tennessee, the authority is the Department of Health, and the governing law is Tenn. Code sections 62-38-201 to 310. The model is a state license, meaning an individual artist holds a credential issued by the state itself. Alongside your personal license, the Tattoo Studio you work in must carry a local health certificate for the shop.
Kentucky: statewide rules on top of local registration
Kentucky’s authority is the Department for Public Health, and the governing rule is 902 KAR 45.065. The model is county-local, which means the statewide rules are layered on top of mandatory local registration. Your Tattoo Studio needs a local health department permit and inspection, and the county where you work is central to your compliance.
Tip: In Kentucky, treat your local health department as your first phone call. Because the model is county-local, the office nearest your Tattoo Studio holds the practical details on permits and inspection.
What does a tattoo license cost in each state?
The verified facts for both Tennessee and Kentucky do not list any specific licensing fee, so you must confirm current costs directly with each state authority. We will not invent a number, because a wrong fee could mislead your planning.
For Tennessee, check the Department of Health resource for the artist license and any local health certificate cost for the shop. For Kentucky, the fee structure runs through the local health department that issues your permit, so costs may vary by county. In both states, the honest answer is the same: verify with the official source below before you budget.
- Tennessee resource: TN Environmental Health, Tattoo, at tn.gov
- Kentucky resource: Kentucky CHFS Tattoo & Piercing, at chfs.ky.gov
What are the requirements in each state?
Tennessee requires a state artist license plus CPR and First Aid certification, while Kentucky requires proof of age, annual bloodborne pathogens certification, and adherence to conduct rules. The two lists overlap in spirit but differ in the specifics.
Tennessee requirements
- License: State artist license issued by the Department of Health.
- Facility: Local health certificate for the shop.
- CPR: CPR certification.
- First Aid: First Aid certification.
Tennessee is notable because it is one of about 11 states that explicitly require both CPR and First Aid for licensure. If you plan to work there, budget time to complete and maintain both certifications.
Kentucky requirements
- Age: Proof of age.
- BBP: Annual bloodborne pathogens (BBP) certification.
- Facility: Local health department permit and inspection.
- Conduct: No tattoos on minors or noticeably impaired individuals.
Kentucky places its statewide rules on top of mandatory local registration, and it names a specific annual BBP certification requirement. Its conduct rule also draws a clear line against tattooing minors or noticeably impaired individuals.
Warning: Neither state’s verified facts list a supervised-hours count, an exam, or a specific board process. If a source claims one, verify it against the official state page before you rely on it.
How does moving or transferring between them work?
Tennessee lists a guest transfer status while Kentucky lists a documentation transfer status, so an artist crossing state lines faces different processes in each direction. Understanding this early saves headaches if you plan to relocate or travel to work conventions.
Tennessee’s guest status suggests a pathway for a visiting artist to work under defined conditions, which is worth confirming with the Department of Health before you arrive. Kentucky’s documentation status points toward showing paperwork that establishes your standing when you register locally. Because the exact steps are not spelled out in the verified facts, confirm the current procedure with each authority.
Moving from Tennessee to Kentucky
If you hold a Tennessee state artist license and move to Kentucky, expect to work through the county-local system, obtain a local health department permit and inspection, and satisfy Kentucky’s documentation transfer requirements including annual BBP certification. Your Tennessee license does not automatically substitute for Kentucky’s local permit.
Moving from Kentucky to Tennessee
If you move from Kentucky to Tennessee, you will step into a statewide licensing system. Plan to secure the Tennessee state artist license and to hold both CPR and First Aid certification, since Tennessee explicitly requires them. Confirm how your prior credentials are treated under Tennessee’s guest transfer status.
Which state is easier, and for whom?
Neither state is universally easier, because Tennessee front-loads individual certifications while Kentucky centers on local permits, so the better fit depends on your circumstances. Here are the criteria we used, stated plainly.
Our criteria
- Number of stated requirements.
- Whether licensing follows the artist or the studio and locality.
- Certification burden named in the facts.
- Transfer status for artists arriving from another state.
Where Tennessee looks simpler
If you value a single statewide artist license that travels with you inside the state, Tennessee’s state model is cleaner. One authority, one license category, and a clear local health certificate for the shop. The tradeoff is the added CPR and First Aid certifications, which Tennessee explicitly demands.
Where Kentucky looks simpler
If your priority is fewer named personal certifications, Kentucky lists proof of age, annual BBP certification, and conduct rules, without naming CPR or First Aid in the verified facts. The tradeoff is the county-local model, which means your experience depends heavily on the specific local health department that permits and inspects your Tattoo Studio.
Because the verified facts do not list fees, supervised hours, or exams for either state, we will not manufacture a cost winner. On paper, Tennessee offers centralized simplicity with an extra certification load, and Kentucky offers a lighter named certification list with a locally driven permit process. Choose based on which tradeoff fits your life.
Learning to tattoo with Ink Different
Ink Different Tattoos trains artists to a professional standard that serves you in Tennessee, Kentucky, or anywhere your career takes you. We are a serious college alternative for people who want a real craft instead of a degree and debt.
A recent survey found that 79% of students, teachers, and professionals expect a college degree to carry less weight in an AI world, and 45% said significantly less. A four-year degree that costs $300,000 and prepares you for a job AI may already be doing by 2028 is a real risk, not a safe bet.
Our Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship pairs you with a working Mentor so you learn on real skin, real machines, and real client relationships. This is a Tattoo Apprenticeship, never a tattoo apprenticeship shortcut, and it is built around the safety and professionalism that both states expect. We use the term Tattoo Machine, not gun, and Tattoo Studio, not parlor, because language reflects standards.
Whether you settle in Tennessee’s statewide system or Kentucky’s county-local one, the fundamentals we teach travel with you: sterile technique, bloodborne pathogens awareness, client care, and the artistic skill that separates a professional from a hobbyist. A Professional Tattoo Artist can earn over $106,000 a year, according to ZipRecruiter, and the path there starts with proper training.
Ready to become a Tattoo Artist? Apply now to Ink Different’s Traditional Tattoo Apprenticeship and start building an AI-proof career, with licensing support along the way.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Tennessee require a state tattoo license?
Yes. Tennessee follows a state license model administered by the Department of Health under Tenn. Code sections 62-38-201 to 310, and the individual artist holds the credential.
How does Kentucky license tattoo artists?
Kentucky uses a county-local model under 902 KAR 45.065, administered by the Department for Public Health, requiring a local health department permit and inspection plus annual BBP certification.
Does Tennessee require CPR and First Aid for a tattoo license?
Yes. Tennessee is one of about 11 states that explicitly require both CPR certification and First Aid certification for licensure, in addition to the state artist license.
Can I transfer my tattoo license between Tennessee and Kentucky?
Not automatically. Tennessee lists a guest transfer status and Kentucky lists a documentation transfer status, so confirm the current process with each state authority before relocating.
How much does a tattoo license cost in Tennessee or Kentucky?
The verified facts do not list a specific fee for either state. Check the TN Environmental Health page and the Kentucky CHFS Tattoo and Piercing page for current costs.
Can Kentucky artists tattoo minors?
No. Kentucky’s conduct rules prohibit tattooing minors or noticeably impaired individuals, and this is a named requirement under the state’s statewide rules.


